The ASA is governed by an Executive Committee consisting of nine members, elected every three years by the general membership. The Executive Committee appoints from amongst its members a Chair and two Vice-Chairs, and assigns a Treasurer. Collaboration with the ASA in any forms must be presented to and approved by the Executive Committee. A majority vote decide all questions.

The current Executive Committee was elected in December 2016 in an online anonymous vote.